These are the winners of our #PressFreedom Contest!

'The ability to express your opinion or to provide facts, without compromising your safety'. In the #PressFreedom competition, organized in partnership with RNW Media on the occasion of the World Press Freedom Conference 2020, journalists worldwide sent video messages, stories and photos about what press freedom means to them. The nineteen winners are announced today: their names are listed below! The winners will be able to follow a 2-day online Investigative Journalism course at RNTC Media Training Centre, RNW Media's training centre. Watch the video about this course here.

#PressFreedom contest

From Ghana, Nigeria, Italy to the Philippines and Nepal. Journalists from all over the world shared what they believe press freedom means.

Investigative journalism
The winners of #PressFreedom will start the two-day online Investigative Journalism course at RNTC Media Training Centre in January. In this course they will learn the key concepts and tools for investigative journalism, how to identify and investigate issues of governance, accountability, corruption and abuse of power. They also learn how to structure powerful stories in fresh and engaging ways. The course is taught by investigative journalist and trainer Jonathan Groubert, who previously worked for the BBC, ABC and Deutsche Welle.

Polina Jones - RNTC Media Training Centre
Polina Jones, director at RNTC Media Training Centre

"Media for Social Change”
Polina Jones, director at RNTC Media Training Centre: "RNTC has more than 50 years of experience in media training for 'social change'. Supporting press freedom where it's under pressure, training journalists worldwide and working with the best players and people in the field, that's what we're all about. We are honoured that the World Press Freedom Conference chose to work with us in this important contest. A competition that gives critical journalists, internationally, a voice and shows how much we still have to do to improve press freedom worldwide.
Watch the video about the Masterclass here.

The winners are:

  • Mohiz Imtiaz
  • Omọ́tọ́lá Adẹ́bánjo
  • Oluwatimileyin Adebanjo
  • Meike Eijsberg
  • Carolina Tesch
  • Laura Naima Kabelka
  • Mohamed Ag Alloulou
  • Abdinoor Aden
  • Simone van Oosten
  • Emmanuel Kwame Amoh
  • Ebru Tongar
  • Bram Wasito 
  • Ivan Gallegos
  • Oluwatoyin Ganiyu
  • John David Moncada
  • Lourdes Paet
  • Zaiyad Ismaila
  • Sabin Kumar Singh
  • Dinh Khac Quynh Giang

The winners who sent us a DM have been informed personally by World Press Freedom Conference 2020, by mail. Good luck and have fun during the course, coming January!